Skip to main content

Political Science: Home

Introduction

This guide will list some of the resources available at the COD Library that you can use to find information when doing research on Political Science / Governmental issues and topics.

COD Political Science Academic Program

A list of various topics can be found below.

Over on the right are some other research tools that you can use to find information.

Be sure to ask for help at the Reference desks if you have questions or problems.

American (U.S.) Politics and Government

America Votes. Reference JK 1967 .A8
American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia. Reference JA 84 . U5 A 44 2006
American Political Culture: An Encyclopedia. (2015)
Conspiracy Theories in American History: An Encyclopedia
Covering American Politics in the 21st Century : An Encyclopedia of News Media Titans, Trends, and Controversies.
CQ's Politics in America. Reference JK 1012 .C6412
CQ Press Guide to Radical Politics in the United States.
CQ Press Guide to Urban Politics and Policy in the United States.
Dictionary of American Government and Politics
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics
Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America. Reference JC 599 .U 5 E 53 2005
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues
Encyclopedia of Populism.
Encyclopedia of Right-Wing Extremism in Modern American History
Encyclopedia of the American Left. Reference HX 86 .E58 1998
Encyclopedia of the Continental Congresses. Reference E 303 .G 76 2015
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet
Encyclopedia of U.S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior
Encyclopedia of U.S. National Security
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics.
Federal Agency Profiles for Students. Reference JK 421 .F 42 1999
From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women, An Encyclopedia of Leaders, Causes and Issues
A Glossary of Terms used in the Federal Budgetary Process (2005)
Guide to Radical Politics in the United States.
GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations (2002)
A Historical Guide to the U.S. Government [agencies and departments]. Reference JK 9 .H57 1998
A History of the U.S. Political System: Ideas, Interests, and Institutions
Latinos in the American Political System: An Encyclopedia of Latinos As Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders
Major Acts of Congress. Reference KF 154 .M 35 2004
Money in American Politics: An Encyclopedia
The Powers of the U.S. Congress: Where Constitutional Authority Begins and Ends.
Presidential Administration Profiles for Students. Reference JK 511 .P78 2000

The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
Religion and Politics in America: An Encyclopedia of Church and State.
Respectfully Quoted: A Dictionary of Quotations Requested from the Congressional Research Service. also PN 6081 .R435 1989
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations and Rebellions in American History: An Encyclopedia
Statistical Abstract of the United States and older editions in General HA 202 .U5 S93
United States Code Service [U.S. laws] and Reference KF 62.1972 .L38

Women in the American Political System:  An Encyclopedia of Women as Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders

American FactFinder. Provides census data by city and state.
Census.gov. State statistics from the U.S. Census.
Center for Public Integrity. A nonpartisan journalism organization that reviews political abuses of power.
Congress.gov. Legislative Information on the Internet. Full-text of House and Senate bills, Congressional Record, and daily proceedings on the House and Senate floors.
Congressional Research Service. Non-confidential Congressional publications collected by the Federation of American Scientists.
Congressional Research Tutorials Online. Tutorials to help you find Congressional materials online (UC Berkeley)
Constitution Finder. Search for state as well as worldwide constitutions.
Dirty Energy Money. Tracks the flow of oil, gas and coal industry contributions to the US Congress.
Factcheck.org. A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center which monitors the accuracy of politicians' reported statements.
Federal Judiciary. Includes directory of courts in the United States as well as judicial rules of practice.
FedWorld (NTIS). A gateway to government information managed by the National Technical Information Service.
The First Amendment Center. A Vanderbilt University website that discusses the First Amendment.
Foreign Affairs Online. A University of Virginia website covering international relations and U.S. foreign policy.
Foreign Policy Research Institute. Information on foreign policies that advance U.S. interests.
Government Accountability Office. The GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
H-Borderlands. Discusses issues regarding the U.S./Mexico border, as well as borderlands worldwide.
Heartland Institute. Think tank which examines public policy issues and their solutions.
Heritage Foundation. A think tank which promotes conservative public policies.
How Our Federal Laws Are Enacted
How Our Federal Laws Are Made
Maplight.org. Nonpartisan group that researches campaign contributions at all levels of government.
National Institute on Money in State Politics. Nonpartisan list of contributions to political campaigns.
National Governors Association. Information about governors in every state.
Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs). A directory of NGO's compiled from a variety of sites.
OpenSecrets.org. Covers federal campaign contributions and lobbying data.
Overseas Loans and Grants. Historical record of worldwide financial aid provided by the United States.
Politics1.org. Election resources on parties, candidates, ideological positions and issues at both the national and state level.
Presidential Speeches. The Scripps Library collection of transcripts (some with audio) of famous presidential speeches.
Public Agenda. Non-partisan reporting on public policy issues.
The Rand Corporation. A highly-respected California think-tank that provides expert analysis of a variety of government problems and operations.
Real Clear Politics. Independent political website covering historical and current elections.
Rootstrikers. Formerly Change-Congress.org, this advocacy group publicizes where PAC money goes.
U.S. House of Representatives
U.S. Senate
U.S. Supreme Court
U.S. President. Website of the Office of the President and related government entities.
USA.gov. The main gateway to U.S. government web sites and online information.
USAspending.gov. Find out where tax dollars are distributed.

Loading ...

Assassinations

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

The Concise Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
Conspiracy Encyclopedia. Reference HV 6275 .C 66 2005
Conspiracy Theories in American History: An Encyclopedia (2003)
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Encyclopedia of American Political History. Reference E 183 .E 48 2001
Encyclopedia of Assassinations Reference HV 6278 .S 54 2001
Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture
Encyclopedia of U.S. National Security
Killing the President : Assassinations, Attempts, and Rumored Attempts on U.S. Commanders-in-Chief. General E 176.1 .O 45 2010
National Trauma and Collective Memory: Major Events in the American Century. General E 741 .N 43 1998

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

Conspiracies

History

Intelligence and Espionage

Political Science

Terrorism

 

Overview of the Assassination of President Kennedy, Friday, November 22, 1963.

Background Readings
Lee Harvey Oswald
Texas School Book Depository in Dallas
Warren Commission Report

Reference Books
Day by Day: The Sixties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1960/69
Encyclopedia of the JFK Assassination. General E 842.9 .B 45 2002
Encyclopedia of the Kennedys : The People and Events that Shaped America.<.em> Reference E 841 .S 527 2012
Encyclopedia of Cuban-United States Relations. (2004)
Encyclopedia of the Sixties.
Historical Dictionary of the Kennedy-Johnson Era. Reference E 841 .B 85 2007
Encyclopedia of the Sixties: A Decade of Culture and Counter-Culture. (2012)
Historical Dictionary of the 1960s Reference E 841 .H 58 1999

Primary Government Documents
The Warren Report: Report of the President's Commission on the Assassination of President John F. Kennedy. General E 842.9 .A 55 1964
Investigation of the Assassination of President John F. Kennedy. Hearings before the President's Commission on the Assassination of President Kennedy. General E 842.9 .A 54 1964.
Assassinations Records Review Board Report. General E 842.9 .U 56 1998

List of COD Library books on the JFK assassination
List of COD Library books on Conspiracies about the Assassination
List of COD Library videos about the Assassination

INTERNET SITES
JFK Assassination Records Collection, U.S. National Archives
JFK Gravesite at Arlington National Cemetery
John F. Kennedy Presidential Library in Boston
The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza

Overview of the Assassination of Robert F. Kennedy, Jun3 4, 1968
The Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles background reading
Sirhan B. Sirhan background reading

Reference Books
Day by Day: The Sixties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1960/69
Encyclopedia of the Kennedys : The People and Events that Shaped America. Reference E 841 .S 527 2012
Encyclopedia of the Sixties.
Historical Dictionary of the 1960s. Reference E 841 .H 58 1999

List of COD Library books on Robert F. Kennedy
List of COD Library books on the Assassination of Robert F. Kennedy
List of COD Library videos on Robert F. Kennedy

Loading ...

Censorship

Censorship: A World Encyclopedia. Reference Z 657 .C 468 2001
Encyclopedia of Censorship. Reference Z 657 .G 73 2005
Encyclopedia of Literature and Politics: Censorship, Revolution, and Writing. Reference PN 51 .E 63 2005
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. Reference KF 4548 .E 53 2000
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment. Reference KF 4770 .E 53 2009
Free Expression and Censorship in America: An Encyclopedia. General Z 658 .U 5 F 644 1997

Loading ...

Conspiracies

Loading ...

Constitutional Law

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

U.S. Constitution research guide
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation (U.S. Library of Congress)

American Constitutional Law: The Structure of Governments
American Constitutional Law: The Bill of Rights.
Constitutional Amendments: An Encyclopedia of the People, Procedures, Politics, Primary Documents [and] Campaigns for the 27 Amendments to the Constitution of the United States.
Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights - General KF 3941 .A 68 U 88 2011
Encyclopedia of Religion and the Law in America
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution - General KF 4548 .E 53 1986
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment - Reference KF 4770 .E 53 2009
Evolving Constitution: How the Supreme Court Has Ruled on Issues from Abortion to Zoning - General KF 4548 .L 54 1992
Great American Court Cases
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court - General KF8742 .W567 2004
The Oxford Guide to American Supreme Court Decisions - Reference KF 4548 .O 97 1999
The Philosophy of Law: An Encyclopedia - Reference K 204 .P 49 1999
Supreme Decisions: Great Constitutional Cases and Their Impact.
United States Supreme Court Reports - Reference KF 101 .U 584

See also the section on Rules of Evidence below.

Evaluating Websites Help

Exploring Constitution Law
http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/conlaw/home.html
Find landmark cases and explore Constitutional law issues.

FindLaw US Supreme Court Center
http://supreme.lp.findlaw.com
Find recent con law cases under "Browse Cases by Topic for Each Term."

Landmark Supreme Court Cases
http://www.streetlaw.org/en/landmark/home
A resource center to help students explore the key issues of landmark cases.

Open Jurist
http://openjurist.org
This website gives access to free published court opinions.

Selected Constitutional Law Decisions of the US Supreme Court
http://www.law.cornell.edu/supct/cases/conlaw.htm
Highlights some landmark con law cases.

Loading ...

Cyber Security / Cyber Crime

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Cyber Security Cyber Glossary
A Dictionary of Forensic Science. Reference HV 8073 .B 4246 2012
Dictionary of Information Security. General QA 76.9 .A 25 S 585 2006
Encyclopedia of Cyber Warfare.
Encyclopedia of Cybercrime. Reference HV 6773 .E 53 2009
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science. Reference HV 8073 .B 425 2008
Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime Fighting Reference HV 6773 .N 48 2004
Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interactions. Reference QA 76.9 .H 85 B 46 2004
Encyclopedia of Internet Technologies and Applications 
Encyclopedia of Terrorism  Reference HV 6431 .C 65 2007
Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice 
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention
Encyclopedia of Social Networks 
The Internet: A Historical Encyclopedia. Reference TK 5105.875 .I 57 I 5372 2005
The Internet Encyclopedia. Reference TK 5105.875 .I 57 I 5466 2004
Surveillance in America: An Encyclopedia.
Webster's New World Hacker's Dictionary. General QA 76.9 .A 25 S 333 2006

Loading ...

Elections and Voting

Organized into General Works, Atlases, Debates

The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science: A User's Guide to its Terms
Campaigning for President in America, 1788-2016. Reference JK 524 .H 36 2016
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Ballotpedia: The Encyclopedia of American Politics.
Encyclopedia of Deception
Encyclopedia of Libertarianism. Reference JC 585 .E 53 2008
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion. Reference BL 65 .P7 E 53 2007
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right. (2005)
Encyclopedia of Populism. (2014)
Encyclopedia of Public Choice
Encyclopedia of Right-Wing Extremism in Modern American History
Encyclopedia of the American Left. Reference HX 86 .E58 1998
Encyclopedia of U.S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior. (2008)
Guide to U.S. Elections. (2016)
International Encyclopedia of Elections. Reference JF 1001 .I 57 2000
Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms: The Complete Encyclopedia. (2012)
The 21st-Century Voter: Who votes, How They Vote, and Why They Vote. (2016)


ATLASES
Geographic Perspectives on Democracy and Elections background reading
Atlas of American Politics, 1960-2000. Reference JK 271 .A 85 2002
Atlas of the 2008 Elections. General G 1201 .F 9 A 8 2011
Atlas of the 2012 Elections. General  G 1201 .F 9 A 8 2014

Atlas of the 2016 Elections.  Reference  1201 .F 9 A 8 2018
The Historical Atlas of Political Parties in the United States Congress, 1789-1989. General G 1201 .F 9 M 26 1989
The Historical Atlas of State Power in Congress, 1790-1990. General G 1201 .F 7 M 3 1993
The Historical Atlas of United States Congressional Districts, 1789-1983. General G 1201 .F 9 M 3 1982
Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections 1788-2004. Reference JK  524 .H 57 2006
The Routledge Historical Atlas of Presidential Elections. Reference JK  524 .M 54 2001


DEBATES
Commission on Presidential Debates background reading
The Lincoln-Douglas Debates background reading
Political Debates background reading
Presidential Debates background reading
Dictionary of Debate and Public Speaking. (2016)
List of COD Library books on Debates
List of COD Library videos on Debates

Polling background reading
Voter Turnout background reading
The African American Electorate: A Statistical History. Reference JK 1924 .W 35 2012
The Almanac of State Legislative Elections : Voting Patterns and Demographics 2000-2006. Reference JK 1967 .A 77 2007
American National Election Studies Data Sourcebook, 1952-1986. Reference JK 1967 .M 54 1989
British Electoral Facts, 1832-2006. Reference JN 1037 .C 667 2007
Illinois Elections, 1818-1990 : Candidates and County Returns for President, Governor, Senate, and House of Representatives. Reference JK 5792 .I 45 1992
Presidential Elections, 1789-2008 : County, State, and National Mapping of Election Data. Reference JK 524 .D 47 2010
A Statistical History of American Presidential Elections. General JK 1967 .P 4 1963
United States Presidential Elections, 1788-1860 : The Official Results by County and State. Reference JK 524 .D 778 2002
United States Presidential Primary Elections, 2000-2004 : A Handbook of Election Statistics. Reference JK 522 .C 662 2007
U.S. Election Statistics: A Research Guide, from the U.S. Library of Congress
Voter Turnout since 1945: A Global Report. Reference JF 1001 .L 693 2002

Almanac of Policy Issues
Can I Vote?
Chicago Board of Election Commissioners
Chicago Council on Global Affairs (CCGA)
Cook County suburbs elections
Council on Foreign Relations. Independent, non-partisan think tank covering issues worldwide.
C-SPAN video library
DuPage County Election Commission
FactCheck.org Checking the facts
Foreign Affairs Online. A University of Virginia website covering international relations and U.S. foreign policy.
H-Borderlands. Discusses issues regarding the U.S./Mexico border, as well as borderlands worldwide.
Huffington Post Poll Numbers
Illinois State Board of Elections
Kane County elections
Political TV Advertising Archive
PolitiFact Checking those facts
Open Secrets (lots of various types of financial information)
Real Clear Politics - Poll Numbers
U.S. Federal Election Commission
U.S. Federal Election Laws
Vote Smart (lots of various types of information found here)
Will County elections

Loading ...

Genocide

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity. Reference HV 6322.7 .E 532 2005
Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice.
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide. Reference HV 6322.7 .H 67 2006
Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa. Reference DT 21.5 .A 76 2008
Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence
Talking Conflict: The Loaded Language of Genocide.

Loading ...

Gun Control

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights
Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America
Gun Control: A Documentary and Reference Guide
Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook. General HV 7436 .C 36 2017
Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights in the United States.
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and Law

Loading ...

Human Rights

General book call number area: JC 571


An Encyclopedia of Human Rights in the United States
encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945 General JC 571 .L 2747 1999
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations
Human Rights and the United States
Human Rights Encyclopedia Reference JC 571 .L 523 2001
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights General JC 571 .M 3243 2000

Immigration and Refugees

Anti-Immigration in the United States: An Encyclopedia.
Chronology of Immigration in the United States. Reference JV 6450 .W 76 2008
Contemporary Immigration in America: A State-by-State Encyclopedia.
Dictionary of American Immigration History. General JV 6450 .D 53 1990
Encyclopedia of American Immigration. Reference JV 6465 .E 53 2010
Encyclopedia of Diasporas : Immigrant and Refugee Cultures Around the World. Reference DS 134 .E 63 2004
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West.
Encyclopedia of North American Immigration. Reference JV 6465 .P 68 2005
Facts about American Immigration. Reference JV 6465 .B 73 2001
Immigration and Asylum : From 1900 to the Present.
Immigration in America Today: An Encyclopedia. Reference JV 6465 .I 4754 2006
Immigration in U.S. History (an encyclopedia). General JV 6450 .I 565 2006
Issues in U.S. Immigration. Reference JV 6450 .I 565 2015
Key Concepts in Migration. Reference JV 6021 .B 37 2014
Undocumented Immigrants in the United States: An Encyclopedia of Their Experience.

COD Library Controversial Topics Research Guide
COD Library Ethnic Groups Research Guide
COD Library Social Problems Research Guide
Border and Migration Studies This database has streaming videos and other print content on various aspects of life along borders.

Loading ...

Intelligence and Espionage

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Encyclopedia of Intelligence and Counterintelligence. (2005)
Encyclopedia of the Central Intelligence Agency. Reference UB 251 .U 5 S 63 2003
Historical Dictionary of Intelligence Failures. (2015)
Surveillance in America: An Encyclopedia. (2016)
List of Historical Dictionaries on Intelligence at the COD Library
COD Library research guide on Fake News
COD Library research guide on Lying and Deception

Loading ...

International Relations and Governments

The Brennan Center for Justice (New York University School of Law). Covers justice issues worldwide.
Center for Democracy and Technology. Covers the issue of global civil liberties.
Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS). Provides expert commentary about world events and issues.
Central Eurasian Interactive Atlas Project. This University of Washington study provides commentary about world events and issues.
Constitution Finder. Search for state as well as worldwide constitutions.
Council on Foreign Relations. Independent, non-partisan think tank covering issues worldwide.
Countries of the World - Infoplease
Economic Freedom of the World Report. Report uses data to measure economic freedom in 141 nations.
Foreign Affairs Online. A University of Virginia website covering international relations and U.S. foreign policy.
Foreign Policy Research Institute. Information on foreign policies that advance U.S. interests.
H-Borderlands. Discusses issues regarding the U.S./Mexico border, as well as borderlands worldwide.
Inter-American Development Bank. Provides financial support for development in Latin America and the Caribbean.
International Monetary Fund. This agency of the United Nations provides advice and financial backing to primarily developing countries.
Nationmaster. Data in charts, graphs, and tables on countries throughout the world.
Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs). A directory of NGO's compiled from a variety of sites.
Overseas Loans and Grants. Historical record of worldwide financial aid provided by the United States.
Political Database of the Americas. Extensive data on countries in the Americas, from Georgetown University's Center for Latin American Studies.
Project Vote Smart Find your representative by address and zip code, or take a survey to see which candidate matches your beliefs.
The United Nations
The United Nations Digital Library
The World Bank. Provides financial assistance to developing countries.
World Concern Institute. Democracy rankings for 150 of the largest nations in the world.
World Values Survey. Research project that examines people's values and beliefs throughout the world

Loading ...

Legal System

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Crime and Punishment in America : An Encyclopedia of Trends and Controversies in the Justice System.
Crime and the Justice System in America : An Encyclopedia. General HV 6789 .C 6884 1997
Encyclopedia of Law and Society: American and International Perspectives
Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System - General KF 154 .E 53 1987
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law - Reference KF 154 .W 47 2011
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law - eBook
The Judicial Branch of State Government : People, Process, and Politics. Reference KF 8736 .J 83 2006
Legal Systems of the World : A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference K 48 .L 44 2002
The Philosophy of Law: An Encyclopedia - Reference K 204 .P 49 1999

The State and Federal Courts: A Complete Guide to History, Powers, and Controversy.
The U.S. Justice System: An Encyclopedia.

Loading ...

Marxism, Communism, Socialism

The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary: Movements, Histories, and Motivations. (2006)
Biographical Dictionary of Marxism. Reference HX 23 .B 568 1986
Biographical Dictionary of Neo-Marxism. Reference HX 23 .B 57 1985
The Dictionary of Alternatives, Utopianism and Organisation.

Dictionary of American Communal and Utopian History.  Reference  HX 653 .F 65 1980
Dictionary of the Politics of the People's Republic of China. Reference DS 777.75 .D 53 1998

Dictionary of Alternatives:  Utopianism and Organization
Encyclopedia of China. Reference DS 705 .P 47 1999
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe : From the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism. Reference DJK 6 .E 53 2000
Encyclopedia of Governance
Encyclopedia of the American Left. Reference HX 86 .E 58 1998

Encyclopedia of Utopian Literature.  Reference  PN 56 .U 8 S 66 1995
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict. (2008)
Historical Dictionary of Marxism. Reference HX17 .W 36 2007
Historical Dictionary of North Korea. Reference DS 933.7 .K 55 2003
Historical Dictionary of Socialism. Reference HX17 .D 63 1997
Isms and Ologies: All the Movements, Ideologies, and Doctrines that have Shaped Our World: The 453 Basic Tenets You've Only Pretended to Understand. Reference HM 585 .G655 2007
Marx Dictionary
Marxism, Communism, and Western society; A Comparative Encyclopedia. General AE 5 .M 27 1972
Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia. also General HM 1231 .C 85 2003

Utopias and Utopianism:  A Historical Dictionary.  Reference  HX 626 .T 73 1999

Loading ...

Peace

Loading ...

Political Communication

Loading ...

Privacy

Loading ...

Propaganda

Loading ...

State and Local Politics

Local Politics overview

Geographic Perspectives on Democracy and Elections

Metropolitan Government history

Political Geography and Local Boundaries overview

Politics in the Suburbs overview

The Book of the States. Latest edition in Reference JK 2403 .B 6. With statistical and directory information.
Cities in American Political History. (2011)
The Executive Branch of State Government: People, Process, and Politics. Reference JK 2446.5 .E 94 2006
Guide to State Politics and Policy. (2013)
Guide to Urban Politics and Policy in the United States.
The Judicial Branch of State Government: People, Process, and Politics. Reference KF 8736 .J 83 2006
The Legislative Branch of State Government: People, Process, and Politics. Reference JK 2488 .L 58 2006
Money in American Politics: An Encyclopedia
Political Encyclopedia of U.S. States and Regions. Reference JK 2408 .P 623 2009

Maplight.org. Nonpartisan group that researches campaign contributions at all levels of government.
National Institute on Money on State Politics. Nonpartisan list of contributions to political campaigns.
National Governors Association. Information about governors in every state.
Open Government Guide is a complete compendium of information on every state's open records and open meetings laws. Each state's section is arranged according to a standard outline, making it easy to compare laws in various states. - See more at: http://www.rcfp.org/open-government-guide#sthash.OIW8p12f.dpuf
Politics1.org. Election resources on parties, candidates, ideological positions and issues at both the national and state level.
Project Vote Smart Find your representative by address and zip code, or take a survey to see which candidate matches your beliefs.
State and Local Government web sites directory

Illinois politics overview

Most books can be found around Call Number JK 5716 in both the General and Reference collections.

Illinois Blue Book  Latest edition in Reference   JK 5730 .A 25

Illinois Handbook of Government

Illinois Politics:  A Citizen's Guide   General  JK 5716 .N 68 2010

Loading ...

Terrorism

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Global Terrorism Database

Chronologies of Modern Terrorism Reference HV 6431 .R 84 2008
Encyclopedia of Modern American Extremists and Extremist Groups Reference HN 90 .R 3 A 75 2002
Encyclopedia of Modern Worldwide Extremists and Extremist Groups Reference HN 49 .R 33 A 85 2004
Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Encyclopedia of World Terrorism Reference HV 6431 .E 53 2003
Extremist Groups: Information for Students Reference HN 90 .R 3 E 975 2006
Historical Dictionary of Terrorism General HV 6431 .A 537 2002
9/11 and the Wars in Afghanistan and Iraq : A Chronology and Reference Guide
9/11 Encyclopedia
Political Violence and Terrorism in Modern America : A Chronology Reference HN 90 .V 5 H 49 2005
Religion and Violence : An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict from Antiquity to the Present

September 11 in Popular Culture:  A GuideGeneral  HV 6432.7 .S 455 2010
Shocked and Awed : A Dictionary of the War on Terror Reference JZ 1253.5 .H 355 2010
Talking Terrorism : A Dictionary of the Loaded Language of Political Violence
Terrorism: Essential Primary Resources
Terrorism: The Essential Reference Guide
The War on Terror Encyclopedia : From the Rise of Al-Qaeda to 9/11 and Beyond

Loading ...

Theories and Philosophy

What is Political Philosophy?

What is Political Sociology?
Be sure to look in the other political science dictionaries and encyclopedias listed above.
PHILOSOPHY library research guide
A list of COD Library books on Political Philosophy

A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory
Encyclopedia of Social Theory
A Glossary of Political Theory
Isms and Ologies: All the Movements, Ideologies, and Doctrines that have Shaped Our World: The 453 Basic Tenets You've Only Pretended to Understand. Reference HM 585 .G655 2007
Key Concepts in Governance
Key Concepts in Political Communication
The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Reference CB 9 .N 49 2005
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
Political Philosophy, A-Z
Political Theories for Students and Reference JA 81 .P617 2002
Political Theory: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary and Classic Terms

Your Librarian

Dan Blewett's picture
Dan Blewett
Contact:
Library 3136
630-942-2279
Website
  • URL: https://cod.libguides.com/politicalscience
  • Last Updated: Nov 27, 2019 9:52 AM
  • Print Page