Skip to main content

Criminal Justice: Home

Introduction

This guide will list some of the resources available at the COD Library that you can use to find information when doing research on Criminal Justice / Law Enforcement issues and topics.

COD Criminal Justice Academic Program

COD Suburban Law Enforcement Academy (SLEA)

COD - Lewis University 3 + 1 Criminal Justice Bachelors Degree Program

A list of various topics can be found below.

Over on the right are some other research tools that you can use to find information.

Be sure to ask for help at the Reference desks if you have questions or problems.

Assassinations

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

The Concise Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
Conspiracy Encyclopedia. Reference HV 6275 .C 66 2005
Conspiracy Theories in American History: An Encyclopedia (2003)
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Encyclopedia of American Political History. Reference E 183 .E 48 2001
Encyclopedia of Assassinations Reference HV 6278 .S 54 2001
Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture
Encyclopedia of U.S. National Security
Killing the President : Assassinations, Attempts, and Rumored Attempts on U.S. Commanders-in-Chief. General E 176.1 .O 45 2010
National Trauma and Collective Memory: Major Events in the American Century. General E 741 .N 43 1998

RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES

Conspiracies

History

Intelligence and Espionage

Political Science

Terrorism

 

Overview of the Assassination of President Kennedy, Friday, November 22, 1963.

Background Readings
Lee Harvey Oswald
Texas School Book Depository in Dallas
Warren Commission Report

Reference Books
Day by Day: The Sixties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1960/69
Encyclopedia of the JFK Assassination. General E 842.9 .B 45 2002
Encyclopedia of the Kennedys : The People and Events that Shaped America.<.em> Reference E 841 .S 527 2012
Encyclopedia of Cuban-United States Relations. (2004)
Encyclopedia of the Sixties.
Historical Dictionary of the Kennedy-Johnson Era. Reference E 841 .B 85 2007
Encyclopedia of the Sixties: A Decade of Culture and Counter-Culture. (2012)
Historical Dictionary of the 1960s Reference E 841 .H 58 1999

Primary Government Documents
The Warren Report: Report of the President's Commission on the Assassination of President John F. Kennedy. General E 842.9 .A 55 1964
Investigation of the Assassination of President John F. Kennedy. Hearings before the President's Commission on the Assassination of President Kennedy. General E 842.9 .A 54 1964.
Assassinations Records Review Board Report. General E 842.9 .U 56 1998

List of COD Library books on the JFK assassination
List of COD Library books on Conspiracies about the Assassination
List of COD Library videos about the Assassination

INTERNET SITES
JFK Assassination Records Collection, U.S. National Archives
JFK Gravesite at Arlington National Cemetery
John F. Kennedy Presidential Library in Boston
The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza

Overview of the Assassination of Robert F. Kennedy, Jun3 4, 1968
The Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles background reading
Sirhan B. Sirhan background reading

Reference Books
Day by Day: The Sixties. Reference D 427 .D 3 1960/69
Encyclopedia of the Kennedys : The People and Events that Shaped America. Reference E 841 .S 527 2012
Encyclopedia of the Sixties.
Historical Dictionary of the 1960s. Reference E 841 .H 58 1999

List of COD Library books on Robert F. Kennedy
List of COD Library books on the Assassination of Robert F. Kennedy
List of COD Library videos on Robert F. Kennedy

Loading ...

Constitutional Law

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

U.S. Constitution research guide
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation (U.S. Library of Congress)

American Constitutional Law: The Structure of Governments
American Constitutional Law: The Bill of Rights.
Constitutional Amendments: An Encyclopedia of the People, Procedures, Politics, Primary Documents [and] Campaigns for the 27 Amendments to the Constitution of the United States.
Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights - General KF 3941 .A 68 U 88 2011
Encyclopedia of Religion and the Law in America
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution - General KF 4548 .E 53 1986
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment - Reference KF 4770 .E 53 2009
Evolving Constitution: How the Supreme Court Has Ruled on Issues from Abortion to Zoning - General KF 4548 .L 54 1992
Great American Court Cases
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court - General KF8742 .W567 2004
The Oxford Guide to American Supreme Court Decisions - Reference KF 4548 .O 97 1999
The Philosophy of Law: An Encyclopedia - Reference K 204 .P 49 1999
Supreme Decisions: Great Constitutional Cases and Their Impact.
United States Supreme Court Reports - Reference KF 101 .U 584

See also the section on Rules of Evidence below.

Evaluating Websites Help

Exploring Constitution Law
http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/conlaw/home.html
Find landmark cases and explore Constitutional law issues.

FindLaw US Supreme Court Center
http://supreme.lp.findlaw.com
Find recent con law cases under "Browse Cases by Topic for Each Term."

Landmark Supreme Court Cases
http://www.streetlaw.org/en/landmark/home
A resource center to help students explore the key issues of landmark cases.

Open Jurist
http://openjurist.org
This website gives access to free published court opinions.

Selected Constitutional Law Decisions of the US Supreme Court
http://www.law.cornell.edu/supct/cases/conlaw.htm
Highlights some landmark con law cases.

Loading ...

Corrections / Prisons

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Encyclopedia of Community Corrections
Encyclopedia of Prisons & Correctional Facilities
Prisons and Prison Systems: A Global Encyclopedia - Reference HV 8665 .R 67 2006
World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems - Reference HV 7901 .W 63 2006

Evaluating Websites Help

Corrections Connection Network
http://www.corrections.com
A comprehensive site of links about prison issues

Federal Bureau of Prisons
http://www.bop.gov
Go to the News/Information section for reports and publications.

Federal Bureau of Prisons Statistics
http://www.bop.gov/about/statistics/
The main place for prison statistics in the country.

Illinois Department of Corrections
http://www2.illinois.gov/idoc/Pages/default.aspx
The place to go for state information.

National Institute of Corrections
http://www.nicic.org
Go to the 'Resources' section of this web site where you will find a wealth of information on corrections topics.

Prisoners' Rights and Resources on the Web
http://civilrights.findlaw.com/other-constitutional-rights/prisoner-righ...
Resources about prisons, prisoners, services for inmates and their families, and other issues.

Loading ...

Criminal Law

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Crime and the Justice System in America: An Encyclopedia - General HV6789 .C6884 1997
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice - Reference HV6017 .E52 2002
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Encyclopedia of Criminology - Reference HV 6017 .E 5295 2005
Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System - General KF 154 .E 53 1987
Federal Criminal Code and Rules. Reference KF 9606.99 .D 567 2015
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law - Reference KF154 .W47 2011
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
Illinois Code of Criminal Procedure ; Illinois Rules of Evidence. Reference KFI 1761 .I 555
Illinois Compiled Statutes. Reference KFI 1229 .I 44
The Oxford Guide to American Supreme Court Decisions - Reference KF 4548 .O 97 1999
The Philosophy of Law: An Encyclopedia - Reference K 204 .P 49 1999
U.S. Statutes at Large.

See also the section on Rules of Evidence below.

Evaluating Websites Help

FindLaw
http://www.findlaw.com
Select "For Legal Professionals" > "Criminal Law" > "Findlaw Library." There is also some additional material under "For The Public" > "Criminal Law."

Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS)
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs.asp
Illinois state laws. The printed copy can found in the Reference Collection at KFI 1229 .I44.

Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority (ICJIA)
http://www.icjia.state.il.us/public/
This state government agency has many reports and other publications that are useful for studying criminal justice.

Illinois Statistical Analysis Center
http://www.icjia.org/public/sac/index.cfm

Loading ...

CSI : Crime Scene Investigation

Crime Scene Investigation background reading

Reference Books

Criminal Investigation Handbook: Strategy, Law and Science - Reference KF 9619 .M 3 1998
Encyclopedia of Crime Scene Investigation - Reference HV 8073 .N 49 2008
Encyclopedia of Cybercrime - Reference HV 6773 .E 53 2009
Encyclopedia of DNA and the U.S. Criminal Justice System.
Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine - Reference RA 1017 .E 53 2005
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science - Reference HV 8073 .B 425 2008
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences - eBook
Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime Fighting - Reference HV 6773 .N 48 2004
Forensic Science: An Encyclopedia of History, Methods and Techniques - Reference HV 8073 .T 55 2006
The Law of Electronic Surveillance - Reference KF 9670 .L 38 2014

Websites

Crime Scene Investigator
http://www.crime-scene-investigator.net
Links to crime scene investigation articles and web sites.

See also the section on Rules of Evidence below.

Cyber Security / Cyber Crime

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Cyber Security Cyber Glossary
A Dictionary of Forensic Science. Reference HV 8073 .B 4246 2012
Dictionary of Information Security. General QA 76.9 .A 25 S 585 2006
Encyclopedia of Cyber Warfare.
Encyclopedia of Cybercrime. Reference HV 6773 .E 53 2009
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science. Reference HV 8073 .B 425 2008
Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime Fighting Reference HV 6773 .N 48 2004
Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interactions. Reference QA 76.9 .H 85 B 46 2004
Encyclopedia of Internet Technologies and Applications 
Encyclopedia of Terrorism  Reference HV 6431 .C 65 2007
Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice 
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention
Encyclopedia of Social Networks 
The Internet: A Historical Encyclopedia. Reference TK 5105.875 .I 57 I 5372 2005
The Internet Encyclopedia. Reference TK 5105.875 .I 57 I 5466 2004
Surveillance in America: An Encyclopedia.
Webster's New World Hacker's Dictionary. General QA 76.9 .A 25 S 333 2006

Loading ...

Gangs

Gangs background reading

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment - eBook
Encyclopedia of Gangs - Reference HV 6439 .U 5 E 53 2008
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice - General HV 9104 .E 58 2003 & eBook
Encyclopedia of Police Science - Reference HV 7901 .E 53 2007
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime - Reference HV 6789 .E 43 2009
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America (2013)
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime - Reference HV 6046 .E 56 2000

Evaluating Websites Help

Criminal Justice Resources:Gangs
http://staff.lib.msu.edu/harris23/crimjust/gangs.htm
Extensive links to gang-related resources maintained by Michigan State Library.

G.R.E.A.T. Program
http://www.great-online.org
Read about the Gang Resistance Education and Training curriculum.

National Alliance of Gang Investigator Associations
http://www.nagia.org
Contains extensive gang-related online articles and links to web sites.

National Youth Gang Center (NYGC)
http://www.iir.com/nygc
Useful for gang-related news, legislation and assessment practices.

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
http://www.ojjdp.gov/
Use the Search button, enter 'Gangs' as a Keyword and check the Publications box on the right.

Loading ...

Gun Control

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights
Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America
Gun Control: A Documentary and Reference Guide
Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook. General HV 7436 .C 36 2017
Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights in the United States.
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and Law

Loading ...

Intelligence and Espionage

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Encyclopedia of Intelligence and Counterintelligence. (2005)
Encyclopedia of the Central Intelligence Agency. Reference UB 251 .U 5 S 63 2003
Historical Dictionary of Intelligence Failures. (2015)
Surveillance in America: An Encyclopedia. (2016)
List of Historical Dictionaries on Intelligence at the COD Library
COD Library research guide on Fake News
COD Library research guide on Lying and Deception

Loading ...

Juvenile Delinquency

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior - Reference HV 6017 .E 53 2001
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice - General HV 9104 .E 58 2003 & eBook
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence - Reference HV 9104 .E 59 2007
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America
Juvenile Justice in America - General HV 9104 .B 347 2014

General call number area for this topic is "HV 9104" in both the Reference Collection and General Collection.

Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice
http://www.cjcj.org
This organization provides direct service, technical assistance and policy research on juvenile and criminal justice issues.

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
http://www.state.il.us/dcfs
Official web site of DCFS.

Juvenile Information Network
http://www.juvenilenet.org
Web site intended to encourage communications among juvenile justice professionals.

Juvenile Justice Law Materials
http://www.law.cornell.edu/wex/index.php/Juvenile_justice
This is the Cornell Law School site for juvenile justice topics. It is a good reference with links to other organizations involving juvenile justice.

National Center for Juvenile Justice
http://www.ncjj.org/
Research division of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.

National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges
http://www.ncjfcj.org
This organization is dedicated to improving the nation's juvenile courts.

NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Information Center
http://www.ncjrs.gov
An excellent resource for information on criminal justice information throughout the world. Select 'Juvenile Justice' for reports and papers.

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
http://www.ojjdp.gov/
Excellent source of information on juvenile delinquency issues.

Loading ...

Legal System

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Crime and Punishment in America : An Encyclopedia of Trends and Controversies in the Justice System.
Crime and the Justice System in America : An Encyclopedia. General HV 6789 .C 6884 1997
Encyclopedia of Law and Society: American and International Perspectives
Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System - General KF 154 .E 53 1987
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law - Reference KF 154 .W 47 2011
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law - eBook
The Judicial Branch of State Government : People, Process, and Politics. Reference KF 8736 .J 83 2006
Legal Systems of the World : A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference K 48 .L 44 2002
The Philosophy of Law: An Encyclopedia - Reference K 204 .P 49 1999

The State and Federal Courts: A Complete Guide to History, Powers, and Controversy.
The U.S. Justice System: An Encyclopedia.

Loading ...

Rules of Evidence

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Criminal Investigation Handbook: Strategy, Law and Science - Reference KF 9619 .M 3 1998
Encyclopedia of Crime Scene Investigation - Reference HV 8073 .N 49 2008
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science - Reference HV 8073 .B 425 2008
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences - eBook
Forensic GIS : The Role of Geospatial Technologies for Investigating Crime and Providing Evidence. General HV 8073.5 .F 67 2014
Forensic Science: An Encyclopedia of History, Methods and Techniques - Reference HV 8073 .T 55 2006
Illinois Code of Criminal Procedure ; Illinois Rules of Evidence. Reference KFI 1761 .I 555
Illinois Evidence : Illinois Rules of Evidence, Statutes, and Constitution : A Compendium for Criminal Litigation. Reference KFI 1740 .R 78

Federal Rules of Evidence
http://www.law.cornell.edu/rules/fre/index.html

Famous Trials
http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/ftrials.htm
Case summaries of famous historical trials.

Illinois Rules of Evidence

http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/SupremeCourt/Evidence/Evidence.asp

 

Loading ...

September 11, 2001

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Chronologies of Modern Terrorism. Reference HV 6431 .R 84 2008
Encyclopedia of Modern Worldwide Extremists and Extremist Groups. Reference HN 49 .R 33 A 85 2004
Encyclopedia of Terrorism.
Encyclopedia of World Terrorism. Reference HV 6431 .E 53 2003
Extremist Groups: Information for Students. Reference HN 90 .R 3 E 975 2006
Historical Dictionary of Intelligence Failures
9/11 and the Wars in Afghanistan and Iraq : A Chronology and Reference Guide. (2012)
9/11 Encyclopedia.
Political Violence and Terrorism in Modern America : A Chronology. Reference HN 90 .V 5 H 49 2005
September 11 in Popular Culture : A Guide.. General HV 6432.7 .S 455 2010
Shocked and Awed : A Dictionary of the War on Terror. Reference JZ 1253.5 .H 355 2010
The Terror Timeline : Year by Year, Day by Day, Minute by Minute : A Comprehensive Chronicle of the Road to 9/11--- and America's Response. General HV 6432.7 .T 46 2004
U.S. Conflicts in the 21st Century: Afghanistan, Iraq, and the Global War on Terror.
The War on Terror Encyclopedia : From the Rise of Al-Qaeda to 9/11 and Beyond.

9/11 Conspiracy Theories overview
Making Sense of Conspiracy Theories background reading
Fake News library research guide

Architects and Engineers for 9/11 Truth website
9/11 Contradictions : An Open Letter to Congress and the Press. General HV 6432.7 .G 7455 2008
The 9/11 Mystery Plane : And the Vanishing of America. General HV 6432.7 .G 34 2008
9/11 Review website
9/11 : The Simple Facts : Why the Official Story Can't Possibly be True. General HV 6432.7 .N 336 2011
Cognitive Infiltration : An Obama Appointee's Plan to Undermine the 9/11 Conspiracy Theory. General HV 6432.7 .G 7465 2011
Conspiracy Theories in American History: An Encyclopedia.
The Mysterious Collapse of World Trade Center 7 : Why the Final Official Report about 9/11 is Unscientific and False. General HV 6432.7 .G 76 2010
Planes without Passengers : The Faked Hijackings of 9/11. General HV 6432.7 .H 378 2011
Web of Conspiracy : A Guide to Conspiracy Theory Sites on the Internet. Reference HV 6275 .B 76 2008

Controversial Topics

Fake News

Intelligence and Espionage

Lying and Deception

Political Science

Propaganda

Psychology

Terrorism

Why We Believe

Loading ...

Social / Restorative Justice

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

African Americans and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice.
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States
Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice.
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime - Reference HV 6789 .E 43 2009
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights.
Hate Crime in America, 1968-2013 : A Chronology of Offenses, Legislation and Related Events.
Latinos and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia
Poverty and the Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia
The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America: An Encyclopedia.

List of COD Library Books on Hate
List of COD Library Videos on Hate

List of COD Library Books on Restorative Justice

List of COD Library Videos on Restorative Justice
List of COD Library Books on Social Justice
List of COD Library Videos on Social Justice

Loading ...

Terrorism

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Global Terrorism Database

Chronologies of Modern Terrorism Reference HV 6431 .R 84 2008
Encyclopedia of Modern American Extremists and Extremist Groups Reference HN 90 .R 3 A 75 2002
Encyclopedia of Modern Worldwide Extremists and Extremist Groups Reference HN 49 .R 33 A 85 2004
Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Encyclopedia of World Terrorism Reference HV 6431 .E 53 2003
Extremist Groups: Information for Students Reference HN 90 .R 3 E 975 2006
Historical Dictionary of Terrorism General HV 6431 .A 537 2002
9/11 and the Wars in Afghanistan and Iraq : A Chronology and Reference Guide
9/11 Encyclopedia
Political Violence and Terrorism in Modern America : A Chronology Reference HN 90 .V 5 H 49 2005
Religion and Violence : An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict from Antiquity to the Present

September 11 in Popular Culture:  A GuideGeneral  HV 6432.7 .S 455 2010
Shocked and Awed : A Dictionary of the War on Terror Reference JZ 1253.5 .H 355 2010
Talking Terrorism : A Dictionary of the Loaded Language of Political Violence
Terrorism: Essential Primary Resources
Terrorism: The Essential Reference Guide
The War on Terror Encyclopedia : From the Rise of Al-Qaeda to 9/11 and Beyond

Loading ...

Your Librarian

Dan Blewett's picture
Dan Blewett
Contact:
Library 3136
630-942-2279
Website
  • URL: https://cod.libguides.com/criminaljustice
  • Last Updated: Nov 27, 2019 9:50 AM
  • Print Page