Skip to main content

Anthropology: Home

Introduction

This guide will list some of the resources available at the COD Library that you can use to find information when doing research on Anthropology or cultural issues and topics.

COD Anthropology Academic Program

A list of various topics can be found below.

Over on the right are some other research tools that you can use to find information.

Be sure to ask for help at the Reference desks if you have questions or problems.

Information on Ethnic / Culture Groups

(Africa, Asian Americans, Asian/Pacific Cultures, Current Issues, in order)

AFRICA
...Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society
...Africa and the Americas : Culture, Politics, and History : A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia
...African Kingdoms: An Encyclopedia of Empires and Civilizations
...Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience Reference DT 14 .A 37435 2005
...Cities of the Middle East and North Africa: A Historical Encyclopedia Reference HT 147.5 .C 574 2007
...The Companion Encyclopedia to Middle Eastern and North African Film Reference PN 1993.5 .A 65 C 66 2001
...The Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art : Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceania, and Native North America
...Diverse Peoples: Nigeria. General GN 653 .G 67 2003
...Diverse Peoples: South Africa.
...Encyclopedia of African History
...Encyclopedia of African History and Culture Reference DT 3 .P 27 2001
...Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations Reference DT 14 .E 43 2002
...Encyclopedia of African Peoples. Reference DT 15 .E 53 2000
...Encyclopedia of African Religion
...Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa : Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures, and Environments Reference DT 2 .E 53 1997
...Encyclopedia of South Africa Reference DT 1714 .E 53 2011
...Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East. Reference GN 645 .E 53 2009
...Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture.
...Encyclopedia of the Yoruba.
...Endangered Peoples: Africa and the Middle East. General GN 635 .N 42 E 53 2002
...Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East: An Encyclopedia. . (2011)
...The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: The Middle East and North Africa Reference HQ 1115 .G 7 2003 v.4
...The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: Sub-Saharan Africa Reference HQ 1115 .G 7 2003 v.6
...The New Encyclopedia of Africa Reference DT 2 .N 48 2008
...Peoples of the World: Africans South of the Sahara. Reference DT 352.42 .M 67 1991
...Peoples of the World: Middle East and North Africa. Reference DS 58 .M 67 1992
...The New African Diaspora.


ASIAN AMERICANS

Asian Americans Mind Map - for other related topics
...Asian Pacific American Heritage Month
...Asian American Culture: From Anime to Tiger Moms.
...Asian American Encyclopedia. Reference E 184 .O 6 A 827 1995
...Asian Americans : An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History.
...Chinese Americans : The History and Culture of a People.
...Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today
...Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature Reference PS 153 .A 84 O 37 2007


ASIAN / PACIFIC CULTURES
...The Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art : Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceania, and Native North America
...Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa: An Encyclopedia.

...Encyclopedia of Islands 

...Encyclopedia of Modern Asia Reference DS 4 .L 48 2002
...Encyclopedia of the Chinese Overseas. Reference DS 732 .E 53 1999
...Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania.
...Endangered Peoples: Southeast and East Asia. General GN 635 .S 58 E 5 2000
...Ethnic Groups of North, East, and Central Asia: An Encyclopedia.
...Ethnic Groups of South Asia and the Pacific: An Encyclopedia.
...The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: Asia and Oceania Reference HQ 1115 .G 7 2003 v.1

...The Pacific Islands:  An Encyclopedia  Reference  DU 17 .P 3 2000
...Pacific Mythology: An Encyclopedia of Myth and Legend Reference GR 380 .K 63 1992
...Peoples of the World: Asians and Pacific Islanders. Reference GN 625 .M 67 1993
...Religion in Southeast Asia: An Encyclopedia of Faiths and Cultures
...South Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia Reference GR 302 .S 68 2003
...Southeast Asia: A Historical Encyclopedia Reference DS 524 .S 68 2004


CURRENT ISSUES
.....African Americans at Risk : Issues in Education, Health, Community, and Justice.
.....American Indians at Risk : Issues in Education, Health, Community, and Justice.
....Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today.
.....Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today
.....Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts. Reference GN 496 .E 56 2003
.....Health and Social Issues of Native American Women.
.....Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An Encyclopedia. Reference GF 50 .J 65 2003
.....Latinos and Latinas at Risk : Issues in Education, Health, Community, and Justice.
.....U.S. Latino Issues.

Other resources for countries and regions can be found on the Geography Research Guide.

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Atlas of World Cultures: A Geographical Guide to Ethnographic Literature. Reference G 1046 .E 1 P 7 1989
Cassell's People's, Nations, and Cultures .
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa: An Encyclopedia.
Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology. Reference GN 562 .S 74 1999
Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook Series
...Canada. General F 1035 .A 1 B 86 2003
...Iran .
...Nigeria. General GN 653 .G 67 2003
...South Africa.
...The Former Soviet Union. Reference DK 33 .M 54 2004
...The Former Yugoslavia. General DR 1246 .K 59 2004
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History.
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples. Reference F 1006 .E 63 1999
Encyclopedia of European Peoples. Reference D 1056 .W 35 2006
Encyclopedia of Historical Warrior Peoples & Modern Fighting Groups.
Encyclopedia of Indo-European Culture. Reference CB 201 .E 53 1997
Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Ref. E 184 .S 75 O 97 2005
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures . Reference RA 418 .E 354 2004.
Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History.
Encyclopedia of Stateless Nations: Ethnic and National Groups Around the World.
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East. Reference GN 645 .E 53 2009
Encyclopedia of Warrior Peoples and Modern Fighting Groups.
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities. Reference GN 495 .E 63 2005
Encyclopedia of World Cultures. .
Endangered Peoples: Struggles to Survive and Thrive series:
...Africa and the Middle East. General GN 635 .N 42 E 53 2002
...Arctic. General GN 673 .E 72 2000
...Europe. General D 1056.2 .E 85 E 63 2001
...Latin America. General E 65 .E 57 2001
...North America. General E 98 .E 85 E 53 2002
...Southeast and East Asia. General GN 635 .S 58 E 5 2000
Ethnic and Racial Minorities in the U.S. Military: An Encyclopedia.
Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East: An Encyclopedia. .
Ethnic Groups of Europe: An Encyclopedia. .
Ethnic Groups of the Americas. .
Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook. . Reference GN 325 .L 46 1998.
Ethnic Relations: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference GN 307 .E 64 E 8 1994
The Ethnopolitical Encyclopedia of Europe. Reference GN 492 .E 86 2004.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Reference E 184 .A 1 G 14 2000.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes through World History. General NA 7105 .S 74 2009
Latino America: A State - by - State Encyclopedia. Reference E 184 .S 75 L 35555 2008
Marriage Customs of the World : An Encyclopedia of Dating Customs and Wedding Traditions.
Muslim Peoples: A World Ethnographic Survey. Reference DS 35.625 .A 1 M 87 1984
Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Cutlures and Peoples. .
Peoples of the Caribbean. Reference F 1619 .S 38 2005
Peoples of the World: The Culture, Geographical Setting and Historical Background series:
...Africans South of the Sahara. Reference DT 352.42 .M 67 1991
...Asians and Pacific Islanders. Reference GN 625 .M 67 1993
...Eastern Europe and the Post-soviet Republics. Reference DJK 26 .M 67 1993
...Middle East and North Africa. Reference DS 58 .M 67 1992
...Western Europeans. Reference D 21.3 .M 67 1993
They do What? : A Cultural Encyclopedia of Extraordinary and Exotic Customs from Around the World.
What do You call a Person From....? Reference PE 1582 .A 3 D 5 1990
World Cultures Encyclopedia / Countries and Their Cultures Encyclopedia.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life. 4 volumes. Reference GN 333. W67.

Loading ...

Business / Applied Anthropology

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Business Insights of Cultural Transformation
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society Reference HF 5387 .E 53 2008
Encyclopedia of Business in Today's World.
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture Reference HC 79 .C 6 E 53 2011
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Encyclopedia of Power
Etiquette and Taboos around the World : A Geographic Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Customs.
Handbook of Cultural Transformation (GALE Business Insights)
International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies
Key Concepts in Organization Theory.
Sage Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence.
Sociology of Work: An Encyclopedia.

Library Guide to International Business Be sure to look at the A to Z World Business database and the globalEdge website, along with the websites of the embassies of other countries, for business and cultural information about other countries.

A - TO - Z World Business.  AtoZ World Business is the world's most comprehensive country-by-country resource for success in international business and trade. AtoZ World Business consists of 100 Country Business Guides of 108 topics each and 76 World Trade Resources. It offers entrepreneurs, business professionals, and researchers access to vetted international business and trade intelligence, compiled into a single, reliable source.
CultureGrams Culturegrams is a core reference resource on understanding the world's peoples through the documentation of the unique details of their customs, traditions, and daily life.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) country information. The EIU has information on various political and economic factors for each country. On the individual country page, look under the Business tab, for a link to information on the Business Environment.
GlobalEdge. The Global Insights section allows you to find business and cultural information for all of the countries in the world.

Two search statements to try in the Library Catalog for books:
1. In the first search box, type in this whole phrase: SU: Business Etiquette AND name of the country
or
2. In the first search box, type in this whole phrase: SU: Corporate Culture AND name of the country

Doing Business (from the World Bank). Reference K 563 .D 87 D 65
Essential Do's and Taboos : The Complete Guide to International Business and Leisure Travel.
Global Business Etiquette: A Guide to International Communications and Customs. General HF 5389 .M 375 2006
Other COD Library Reference Books with Country Information

You must have a valid College of DuPage library card to access the electronic indexes and databases from off-campus.

Loading ...

Clothing

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Beauty Around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion. Reference GT 507 .E 53 2005
Encyclopedia of National Dress: Traditional Clothing Around the World. Reference GT 507 .E 535 2013
Ethnic Dress in the United States: A Cutlural Encyclopedia. (2015)
Fashion, Costume and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages. Reference GT 511 .P 46 2004
Feet and Footwear: A Cultural Encyclopedia. (2009)
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing through American History: 1900 to the Present. (2008)
Hats and Hatwear around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia. (2013)
Uniforms: Why We Are What We Wear. General GT 1900 .F 87 2002
Wedding Dress across Cultures. General GT 1752 .W 43 2003
World Clothing and Fashion: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence. Reference GT 507 .S 6 2013

You must have a valid College of DuPage library card to access the electronic indexes and databases from off-campus.

Loading ...

Diasporas

Disasporas background reading

REFERENCE WORKS
Encyclopedia of Diasporas : Immigrant and Refugee Cultures around the World. Reference DS 134 .E 63 2004
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture.
Encyclopedia of the Chinese Overseas. Reference DS 732 .E 53 1999
Encyclopedia of the Indian Diaspora. Reference DS 432.5 .E 53 2006
The New African Diaspora.
The Penguin Atlas of Diasporas. General GN 370 .C 43 1997

You can find books or articles on diasporas for individual groups by combining the word    Diaspora*   and the name of the group, such as: Greek and Diaspora*

Diasporas Mind Map - for other related topics

Evolution

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Arguing for Evolution : An Encyclopedia for Understanding Science. Reference QH 366.2 .C 735 2011
Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution. . Reference QP 34.5 .M 24 2005
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution. Reference GN 281 .C 345 1992
Encyclopedia of Creation Myths. Reference BL 325 .C 7 L 44 1994
Encyclopedia of Evolution. Reference QH 360.2 .O 83 2002
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory. Reference GN 281 .E 53 2000
Encyclopedia of Religion. Reference BL 31 .E 46 2005
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion. Reference BL 240.3 .E 53 2003
Human Evolution: A Guide to the Debates . (2004)
Icons of Evolution : An Encyclopedia of People, Evidence, and Controversies. (2008)
Life on Earth : An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution. Reference QH 541.15 .B 56 L 54 2002
Science, Religion, and Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Controversy. (2007)
Student Dictionary of Human Evolution. (2015)

 

Loading ...

Folklore, Legends, Mythology, Superstitions

Most books on Folklore may be found in the "GR" call number area of the General and Reference collections.

Other books on more specific topics may be found scattered throughout the collection, so be sure to use the Library Catalog to find them.

What is Folklore?
What are Legends?
What are Myths?

What is the Occult?
What is a Superstition?

 

RELATED RESEACH GUIDES

Folklore Mind Map - for other related topics

Legend Mind Map - for other related topics

Mythology Mind Map - for other related topics

Superstition MInd Map - for other related topics

Why Do We Believe?

Zombies, Vampires, Werewolves

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

A to Z of World Superstitions and Folklore

African American Folklore: An Encyclopedia for Students.
American Folklore: An Encyclopedia. Reference GR 101 .A 54 1996
Celebrating Latino Folklore : An Encyclopedia of Cultural Traditions Reference E 184 .S 75 C 455 2012
Chicano Folklore : a Guide to the Folktales, Traditions, Rituals and Religious Practices of Mexican Americans. Reference GR 111 .M 49 C 37 2001
Dictionary of African Mythology. Reference BL 2400 .S 24 2000
Dictionary of Classical Mythology. (2014)
Dictionary of Folklore. Reference GR 35 .P 53 1999
Dictionary of Superstitions. Reference BF 1775 .D 53 1989
Encyclopedia Mythica.
Encyclopedia of Fable. Reference PN 980 .S 66 1998

Encyclopedia of Superstitions
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends.
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions. (2013)
Folklore : An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art. Reference GR 35 .F 63 1997
Funk & Wagnalls Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology and Legend. General GR 35 .F 8
Ghosts in Popular Culture and Legend
Larousse Dictionary of World Folklore. Reference GR 35 .J 664 1996
The Mythical West: An Encyclopedia of Legend, Lore, and Popular Culture.
Pacific Mythology : An Encyclopedia of Myth and Legend. Reference GR 380 .K 63 1992
South Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia. Reference GR 302 .S 68 2003

Loading ...

Holidays, Festivals, Celebrations

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

African American Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations. Reference GT 4803 .A 2 G 39 2007
America's Favorite Holidays: Candid Histories.
Celebremos! : Las Fiestas de México, Cuba, y Puerto Rico, y su Vigencia en los Estados Unidos General GT 4803 .M 4518 2002
The Christmas Encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of American Holidays and National Days. Ref. GT 4803 .A 2 E 63 2006
Encyclopedia of Christmas and New Year's Celebrations. Reference GT 4985 .G 79 2003
Encyclopedia of Easter, Carnival, and Lent. Reference GT 4935 .G 85 2002
Encyclopedia of New Years Holidays Worldwide.
Entertaining from Ancient Rome to the Super Bowl : An Encyclopedia.
Fertility Goddesses, Groundhog Bellies & the Coca-Cola Company : The Origins of Modern Holidays. General GT 3930 .K 35 2006
Festivals of the World : The Illustrated Guide to Celebrations, Customs, Events, and Holidays. General GT 3930 .B 74 2002
The Folklore of World Holidays. Reference GT 3930 .F 65 1991
The Fourth of July Encyclopedia. Reference E 286 .A 1284 2007
The Halloween Encyclopedia.
Holiday Symbols and Customs. Reference GT 3930 .T 48 2003
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary.
Marriage Customs of the World : An Encyclopedia of Dating Customs and Wedding Traditions. (2013)
Patriotic Holidays of the United States. Reference JK 1761 .H 46 2006
Religious Celebrations : An Encyclopedia of Holidays, Festivals, Solemn Observances, and Spiritual Commemorations.
Religious Holidays and Calendars : An Encyclopedic Handbook.
Rituals and Ceremonies in Popular Culture. General E 169.12 .R55 1980
Traditional Festivals: A Multicultural Encyclopedia. Reference GT 3925 .R 69 2005
We are What We Celebrate : Understanding Holidays and Rituals. General GT 3930 .W 37 2004

Loading ...

Material Culture

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Dictionary of Artifacts Reference CC 70 .K 55 2007
Artifacts and the American Past General E 161 .S 238 1996
Artifacts from Ancient Egypt
Artifacts from Ancient Rome
Artifacts from Medieval Europe General D 125 .T 73 2015
Artifacts from Modern America General E 161 .S 46 2018
Religious Cultures research guide
Technology and Society research guide

List of COD Library books on Material Culture.
List of COD Library books on daily, everyday life.
List of COD Library videos on daily, everyday life.

Loading ...

Religion

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

African American Religious Cultures. Reference BL 2500 .A 37 2009
Asian American Religious Cultures.
American Indian Religious Traditions. Reference E 98 .R 3 C 755 2005
Encyclopedia of African Religion.
Evangelical America: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Religious Culture.
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History.
Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society. Reference BL 60 .E 53 1998
Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals. Reference BL 31 .E 47 2004
Food, Feasts, and Faith : An Encyclopedia of Food Culture in World Religions.
Hispanic American Religious Cultures. Reference BL 2525 .H 57 2009
Islam in World Cultures: Comparative Perspectives. Reference BP 161.3 .I 74 2004
Religion: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference GN 307 .E 64 R 4 1996
Religion and American Culture: An Encyclopedia of Traditions, Diversity, and Popular Expressions. Reference BL 2525 .R 448 2008
Religion and Anthropology: A Critical Introduction. General BL 256 .M 67 2006
Religion and Violence : An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict from Antiquity to the Present.
Religion in Southeast Asia : An Encyclopedia of Faiths and Cultures.
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices. Reference BL 80.3 .N 38 2011
Religious Celebrations : An Encyclopedia of Holidays, Festivals, Solemn Observances, and Spiritual Commemorations.
Understanding Islam and Muslim Traditions : An Introduction to the Religious Practices, Celebrations, Festivals, Observances, Beliefs, Folklore, Customs, and Calendar System of the World's Muslim Communities. Reference BP 161.3 .G 85 2004
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices .
War and Religion: An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict.

Loading ...

Sociolinguistics

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger of Disappearing. Reference G 1046 .E 3 A 85 2001.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences. (2011)
The Color of Words: An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias in the U.S. Reference. E 184 .A 1 H 466 1997.
Concise Encyclopedia of Lnaguage and Religion. Reference P 41 .C 65 2001.
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics. (2001)
A Dictionary of Made-up Languages : From Adûnaic to Elvish, Zaum to Klingon-- the Anwa (real) Origins of Invented Lexicons. Reference P 120 .I 53 R 64 2011
The Dictionary of Historical and Comparative Linguistics. Reference P 143 .T 727 2000.
A Dictionary of Sociolinguistics. (2004)
Dictionary of Languages: The Definitive Reference to More than 400 Languages. . (2006)
Encyclopedia of Swearing: The Social History of Oaths, Profanity, Foul Language, and Ethnic Slurs in the English-Speaking World. Reference PE 3724 .O 3 H 84 2006
Encyclopedia of the Languages of Europe. Reference P 380 .E 53 1998.
Facts about the World's Languages. Reference P 371 .F 33 2000.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. 4 vols. Reference P 29 .I 58 2003.
Key Ideas in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language: An Encyclopedia.
Language: An Introduction to the Study of Speech. By Edwar Sapir. A printed copy is also available in the Library's General Collection at call number P 105 .S 2 1949.
Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. Reference GN 307 .E 64 L 36 1998.
NTC's Dictionary of China's Cultural Code Words. General DS 721 .D 39 1996.
NTC's Dictionary of Japan's Cultural Code Words. General DS 821 .D 467 1994.
NTC's Dictionary of Mexican Cultural Code Words. General F 1210 .D 38 1996.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED). (for word histories)  Reference PE 1625 .O 87 1991
Word Origins Dictionary.
The World's Writing Systems. General P 211 .W 714 1996

Internet Sites

"Do You Speak American?" from PBS.

Ethnologue.com: Lanugages of the World.

The Modern Language Association Language Map.

Sociolinguistics: A Complete Guide to Facts and Resources.

Loading ...

Tatoos / Body Art

Background Readings

Bodily Marks
Tattoo Removal
Tattooing

Body Art Mind Map - for other related topics

Tattoo Mind Map - for other related topics

Reference Works

Beauty Around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Body Adornment. Reference GN 419.15 .D 46 2007
Faces around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia of the Human Face. (2012)
Inked: Tattoos and Body Art from around the World. Reference GT 2345 .D 46 2014
The Tattoo Dictionary: An A-to-Z Guide. General GT 2345 .A 395 2016


Most books on Tattoos in the General collection are in the "GT 2345" or "GN 419" call number areas.

Zombies, Vampires, and Werewolves

Why Reference Sources?

Is your research topic too big to cover in a short paper?  Is your topic so specific that sources will be hard to find?

Before you even begin your research, start the process with reference sources-- in the Library's Reference Section or online in our databases.  Reference books, like subject encyclopedias, can give you a head start and make your research easier in the long run.  Use reference sources to:

  • find a topic
  • narrow your topic
  • find keywords
  • get background information on your topic

The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters

Encyclopaedia Britannica 
Encyclopedia of Afterlife Beliefs and Phenomena. Reference BF 1311 .F 8 L 48 1994
Encyclopedia of Allegorical Literature.Reference PN 56 .A 5 L 44 1996
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience. Reference HQ 1073 .E 544 2009

Encyclopedia of Fantastic Films.  Reference  PN 1995.9. F 36 Y 68 2000
Folklore : An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art.Reference GR 35 .F 63 1997
Horror Literature through History : An Encyclopedia of the Stories that Speak to our Deepest Fears. 
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying. Reference HQ 1073 .M 33 2003
The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Mythical Creatures. General GR 825 .D 463 2006

Reference Book Databases

These databases allow you to search through many different reference works with one search.

Credo Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Loading ...

Your Librarian

Dan Blewett's picture
Dan Blewett
Contact:
Library 3136
630-942-2279
Website
  • URL: https://cod.libguides.com/anthropology
  • Last Updated: Nov 27, 2019 9:43 AM
  • Print Page